large purple detail hertfordshire chorus

Sunday 16 December 2018 6:00pm
Christmas Concert
Haileybury College Chapel
Hertford Heath, Hertford SG13 7NU

Haileybury Chapel at night

  • Hertfordshire Chorus
  • Paul Ayres organ
  • David Temple conductor

We’d love you to celebrate the festive season with us at our annual concert of Christmas music. We enjoy singing glorious music in many wonderful venues throughout the year, but we have a special love of celebrating Christmas in candle-lit Haileybury College Chapel. This will be a family-friendly concert with audience carols, and the Chorus will sing a variety of familiar Christmas music. David Temple will conduct the Chorus and we will be accompanied by Paul Ayres.

Tickets are £10 (rear) or £15 (front), £5 children.
Book by phone 07482 953092 (24 hour voicemail)
or online https://www.ticketsource.co.uk/hertfordshirechorus/
or click the button below.

This year we are pleased to be supporting Herts Musical Memories, a local charity who are committed to providing stimulating music sessions where dementia sufferers and their families can share happy and moving moments together. Their team of professional group leaders and dedicated volunteers strive to ensure their sessions provide therapeutic musical activities for people with dementia in a fun and relaxed environment.

Saturday 2 March 2019 7:30pm
Duke Ellington: Sacred Concert
Bruckner: Mass in E minor
St Albans Cathedral
St Albans AL1 1BY


  • Zoë Brookshaw soprano
  • Hertfordshire Chorus
  • Blue Planet Orchestra
  • David Temple conductor

Duke Ellington’s celebratory Sacred Concert is a spectacular blend of gospel and jazz music with traditional choral singing and reverential tone of European liturgical music. Although he is best known for his jazz arrangements, Duke Ellington described his Sacred Concert work as “… the most important thing I have ever done.

Bruckner’s Mass in E minor is certainly one of the most beautiful and powerful works ever composed for a choir and wind instruments. It is Bruckner’s second mass and he scored it exclusively for wind instruments in the orchestra because the performance space for the Mass’ intended premiere was outside Linz Cathedral. It is arguably his first masterpiece and it illustrates his unique style which combines the simplicity of Italian Renaissance polyphony with romantic style harmony and powerful combinations of vocal and instrumental texture.

Tickets £10, £14, £20 and £25 , £5 children and students, will be available from the Cathedral Box office from 3 December 2018
in person (Mon-Sat 10am to 4:45pm, Sat 3:45pm; Sunday 1pm to 5pm)
by phone 01727 890290
or online www.stalbanscathedral.org/whatson/music/
or click the button below.

Concert News

We always have a full and varied programme of concerts. Please do sign up for our regular email to receive reminders about our concerts, details of discount ticket offers and news of other events we are involved with.

Sunday 28 April 3:00pm
James McCarthy: One Giant Leap (world première)
Vaughan Williams: Toward the Unknown Region
Vaughan Williams: Serenade to Music
Barber: Adagio for Strings
Queen Elizabeth Hall
Southbank Centre, London SE1 8XX

  • Hertfordshire Chorus
  • Coldfall School Choir
  • London Orchestra da Camera
  • David Temple conductor

One Giant Leap, our most recent commission by James McCarthy, commemorates the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 moon landing mission and reflects on the significance of the moon landing for all mankind. One Giant Leap is for large chorus, children’s choir and symphony orchestra and it conveys the spirit of adventure, the sense of risk and the danger of the Apollo mission.

The other works in our concert are also associated with the moon. Vaughan Williams’s Serenade to Music begins with the words “How sweet the moonlight …”. Barber’s Adagio for Strings was played at funeral in 1963 of US President John Kennedy, the president who initiated the Apollo program to the moon. Vaughan Williams used the Walt Whitman poem Darest Thou O Soul, in Toward the Unknown Region, which talks of man’s spiritual journey into the unknown.

Darest thou now O Soul, walk out with me toward the unknown region, where neither ground is for the feet nor any path to follow?

Saturday 6 July 2019 7:30pm
A Night at The Opera
West Road Concert Hall
West Road, Cambridge CB3 9DP


  • Hertfordshire Chorus
  • David Temple conductor

TW Logo ColourHertfordshire Chorus are grateful to Taylor Walton Solicitors for their support of our concerts.

Taylor Walton Solicitors

Spread the word